If you arrived here looking for "Roamless vs eSIM," you've probably seen the name in a traveler's forum or an ad and want to know, with real data, what it is exactly and how it compares to other options for staying connected while traveling. Let's review it with public information from Roamless, cited with source and date of consultation, and then objectively compare it with PuraSIM.
What is Roamless eSIM and how does it work?
Roamless is a global connectivity application that combines eSIM, mobile data, calls, and SMS in one place. Instead of installing a new eSIM for each plan, you install a single eSIM and add credit or data plans from the app, without reinstalling anything (roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026).
This is the most significant structural difference compared to most eSIM apps for travel: instead of buying "an eSIM per trip," Roamless proposes a unique eSIM that you reuse in each destination, topping up credit or buying plans when you need them. It's a model similar to a digital data wallet, rather than a traditional data package with a fixed expiration date from day one.
According to its own help center, the eSIM download is free, and new users receive welcome credit to try the service before loading funds (help.roamless.com, article "Roamless Mobile Data", accessed August 5, 2026).
How many countries does Roamless coverage include?
On its main page, Roamless indicates coverage in more than 200 destinations with a single eSIM installed once (roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026). This figure is in the same range as most global eSIM providers that work with associated local networks in each country, including PuraSIM.
It's worth clarifying something: when a provider says "more than 200 destinations," it usually counts countries, territories, and some islands or administrative regions separately, so the exact number may vary depending on how it's counted and changes over time as agreements with local operators are signed or terminated. That's why at PuraSIM we also don't give a fixed number: we talk about more than 200 destinations, without pretending a precision that no eSIM provider can guarantee month to month.
If you want to understand why eSIM coverage depends on agreements with operators and is not a fixed number, in this guide we explain what an eSIM is and how it works step by step.
What are Roamless Flex plans and fixed data plans like?
Roamless offers two ways to pay for data on the same eSIM. The first is Roamless Flex, a pay-as-you-go system: you load credit and spend it per MB in more than 200 destinations, and this balance, according to the help center itself, "never expires" (help.roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026).
"Your Flex credit balance never expires" — help.roamless.com, article "Roamless Mobile Data", accessed August 5, 2026.
The second option is fixed data plans: packages of 10 GB or 20 GB valid for 30 days, which can be used in parallel with the Flex balance on the same eSIM (help.roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026). Roamless also publishes larger global plans, of 20 and 50 GB with 30 days of validity (roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026).
The following table summarizes its structure. The price per GB is set by Roamless and changes without notice, so it's advisable to check it on their website on the day of purchase.
| Roamless Plan Type | Validity |
|---|---|
| Roamless Flex (pay-as-you-go) | Balance does not expire |
| Fixed data plan (10-20 GB) | 30 days |
| Large global plan (50 GB) | 30 days |
Source for all three prices: help.roamless.com and roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026. We do not repeat PuraSIM prices here because they change by destination and season: updated plans are in the international eSIM collection (link at the end of the article).
Does Roamless also offer calls and SMS, not just data?
Yes. In addition to data, Roamless allows making calls from the app to traditional numbers in more than 200 destinations, with a per-minute rate, which is useful for booking a restaurant or calling a hotel that doesn't use messaging apps (help.roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026). It also offers its own phone number, but as an additional paid service: by default, the eSIM is data-only and does not include an assigned number (roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026).
This nuance matters more than it seems, and we elaborate on it as practical information in the conclusion section: if your eSIM is data-only (Roamless by default, and also most providers, including PuraSIM), you won't be able to receive verification SMS from your bank or apps with two-factor authentication on that number, unless you contract the additional number.

Which is better, eSIM or international roaming?
It depends on what your local operator charges you for roaming, but in most cases, a travel eSIM is cheaper than activating roaming with your home operator, because you only pay for data in the destination and not for a generic international package. The eSIM also avoids changing numbers, so you continue to receive calls and messages on your usual line while using local data to browse.
The downside of traditional roaming is that each operator sets its own rates and zones, and outside those zones, prices can skyrocket without clear warning at the time of use. With an eSIM, you know upfront how many GB you have and until when they are valid, with no surprises on your next month's bill. We compare both models in more detail in this eSIM vs roaming guide.
Which is better for travel, eSIM or physical SIM?
For most short trips, an eSIM is more convenient than buying a physical SIM upon arrival: it's installed before you leave, there's no need to search for a store at the airport or wait in line, and you don't occupy your phone's physical tray or risk losing your usual SIM. A physical SIM still makes sense if your phone is not eSIM compatible or if you plan to stay for several months and prefer a complete local line with its own number from day one.
Before deciding, it's worth checking if your phone model supports eSIM: not all devices support it, especially unlocked low-end ones. You can check it in this list of eSIM compatible phones, and if it's your first time installing one, in this step-by-step guide for installing an eSIM. The full comparison of advantages and disadvantages is in this article on eSIM vs physical SIM.
Which is better, Holafly or Roamless?
This is one of the most common searches alongside "Roamless vs eSIM," but to answer it honestly, we need to be clear: we do not have our own verified data on Holafly's current plans with a consultation date, so we will not invent a comparison that we cannot support with a source.
What we can offer you are the criteria that you should review yourself before choosing between any pair of eSIM apps, including Holafly and Roamless: how many destinations each covers (and since when it was confirmed), whether the price is for a fixed plan or consumption, whether the credit expires or not, whether it includes calls and SMS or only data, and what support channels it offers if something goes wrong at your destination. We apply these same criteria below to Roamless and PuraSIM, which is the comparison we can verify with our own data.
Roamless vs PuraSIM: coverage, support, and activation
With the public data for Roamless cited above and PuraSIM's data, here is the comparison of coverage, support, and activation between the two:
| Criterion | Roamless | PuraSIM |
|---|---|---|
| Destinations covered | More than 200 (roamless.com, Aug 5, 2026) | More than 200 destinations |
| eSIM model | A single reusable eSIM with top-ups | eSIM by destination or region depending on the plan |
| Activation time | Not specified with verifiable own source | Approximately 1 minute |
| Activation period from purchase | Not specified with verifiable own source | 180 days from purchase |
| Support | Help center and in-app chat (help.roamless.com, accessed Aug 5, 2026) | 24/7 in all languages via email and WhatsApp |
| Calls and SMS from the app | Yes, from within the app | Not the service's focus; it's travel data |
Where Roamless clearly wins is in the integrated calls and phone number: if you need to make frequent international calls in addition to data, it's a feature that PuraSIM doesn't offer because it's not the product's focus. PuraSIM, on the other hand, is designed as a travel data eSIM with 24/7 human support via email and WhatsApp in all languages, without relying on an English-only help center as the sole channel.

Roamless vs PuraSIM: pricing model
The biggest difference between the two is not how much they cost, but how they are charged. Roamless uses a wallet model: you load credit (in Flex pay-as-you-go mode, or in fixed 10-20 GB, 30-day plans) and that balance, according to its help center, does not expire, which is convenient if you travel often and don't want to lose what you didn't spend on a trip (help.roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026).
PuraSIM uses a per-destination plan model: you choose the country or region you are traveling to and buy the corresponding data plan, with 180 days from purchase to activate it when your trip starts, without the need to maintain a reloadable credit wallet between trips. This is more convenient if you travel infrequently and prefer to pay exactly for the trip you have planned, without pending balance to manage.
Neither model is objectively "better": the wallet model is convenient for those who travel frequently and don't want to reinstall anything; the per-destination plan is convenient for those who travel little and want to pay once without thinking about it again.
When is Roamless more suitable, and when is PuraSIM better?
To be honest, there are traveler profiles where Roamless makes sense and PuraSIM is not the best option. If you travel very often to different countries and want a single eSIM that you top up each time, without reinstalling anything, or if you need to make frequent international calls from the same app you use for data, the Roamless model is designed precisely for that.
PuraSIM makes more sense if you prefer to buy the plan for your next destination without maintaining a pending credit balance between trips, if you value being able to WhatsApp a human at any time in your own language, or if you simply want to activate the eSIM on the day you land, knowing you have a 180-day margin from purchase to do so.
Neither of them is the right choice for all travelers; they are different models for different needs, and that's the real comparison that can save you from making a bad choice.
Which physical network you actually connect to
A travel eSIM is not a network of its own: it roams on local operators. Which ones you get decides your real coverage, and almost no provider publishes it. These are the networks a PuraSIM eSIM uses, taken from our own carrier agreements and checked on 2 September 2026.
| Destination | Networks you roam on | Technology | Top-up |
|---|---|---|---|
| Japan | NTT docomo · Rakuten Mobile · KDDI/au · SoftBank | 5G | Yes |
| United States | T-Mobile · AT&T | 5G | Yes |
| Spain | Orange · Movistar | 5G | Yes |
| United Kingdom | O2 · EE · 3 | 4G/5G | Yes |
| Thailand | TrueMove H · DTAC | 5G | Yes |
| Mexico | Telcel · AT&T | 5G | Yes |
| Greece | Wind · Vodafone | 5G | Yes |
| Turkey | Vodafone | 5G | Yes |
Two questions are worth asking about any travel eSIM, Roamless included. First, how many networks you get in your destination: where a plan runs on a single operator you have no fallback if that operator is weak where you are staying. Second, whether the plan can be topped up — if it cannot, running out of data means buying and installing a second eSIM mid-trip.
We publish this table because it is the part of the comparison you can check yourself: land, open your phone settings and read the operator name on screen. PuraSIM covers more than 200 destinations, and the network partners are listed on each destination page.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Roamless eSIM?
It is a global connectivity application with eSIM, mobile data, calls, and SMS in one place, covering more than 200 destinations with a single eSIM installed once (roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026).
Does Roamless have unlimited data?
According to the public information reviewed, Roamless works with pay-as-you-go credit (Flex) and with fixed data plans of 10 or 20 GB for 30 days; we did not find, with verifiable source, a plan described as unlimited (help.roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026).
Do I need to install a new eSIM every time I travel with Roamless?
No. Its model is to install a single eSIM and recharge it with credit or plans each time you travel, without reinstalling anything on the phone (roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026).
Does Roamless credit expire?
According to its own help center, the Flex credit balance does not expire (help.roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026). Fixed data plans do have a 30-day validity.
Does Roamless allow making calls, not just using data?
Yes, calls to traditional numbers in more than 200 destinations can be made from the app, with a per-minute rate (help.roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026).
What is the difference between Roamless and PuraSIM?
The main difference is the model: Roamless uses a reloadable credit wallet on a single eSIM, while PuraSIM sells data plans per destination with 180 days to activate them from purchase and 24/7 support via email and WhatsApp in all languages.
Which is better, eSIM or physical SIM?
For short trips, an eSIM is usually more practical because it's installed before you leave and doesn't require finding a store at the destination. A physical SIM is better if your phone doesn't support eSIM or if you're staying for months in one country.
With which eSIM can I receive bank verification SMS abroad?
Only if your eSIM includes its own phone number. Data-only eSIMs, such as the one offered by default by Roamless or most travel eSIMs, do not receive SMS unless you add that function as an additional service.
Conclusion
Roamless is a real app, with more than 200 destinations declared on its own website and a unique eSIM model with reloadable credit that does not expire, in addition to integrated calls and SMS (roamless.com and help.roamless.com, accessed August 5, 2026). It is a good option if you travel frequently and want a single eSIM for everything, or if you need to make calls from the same app you use for data.
If, on the other hand, you prefer to buy the plan for your next trip without maintaining pending balance between destinations, activate when you land with a 180-day margin from purchase, and have someone respond via WhatsApp at any time in your language, PuraSIM is designed for that. You can review the available plans by country in the international eSIM collection, and if you want the complete picture before deciding, the definitive guide to eSIM for travel in 2026 brings together everything you need to know before your next trip. If you want to see in more detail how the Roamless app works internally, we have a separate review in this guide about the Roamless app.







